Scotland and the best burger ever!!!!

In all honesty I did very little research for this trip, my first idea was to look for hiking trails and Jedbugh was highly recommended by the website called Visit Scotland. It is part of a wider walking trail around these boarder Abbeys and towns including Melrose, Kelso and Jedbugh. I just wanted to do a day trip of hiking and then relax at a B&B or cafe. 

I wish I spent a day in Newcastle, Berwick or even Kelso before Jedbugh because of my adventure getting there. Here is some of my advice for visiting this part of the boarders of Scotland, that I wish I had: 

  1. There is a hop on hop off Scottish boarders bus tour with 9 bus stops from Galashields (national rail station) and takes you to most of the Abbeys but not the town of Jedbugh or Kelso (you can however take a Boarders Bus there from St Boswells, also on the hop on hope off tour.) I didn’t go on this £8 bus tour but if I had done my research I would have. 
  2. Boarders Bus service is the best way to travel around if you don’t have a car. 
  3. If you do visit Jedbugh the best place to have dinner is The Belters Bar, you must call and book a table or if you are like me and need dinner at 5pm, the lounge opens at 5pm and I was able to sit for over an hour on a Friday night before it got busy. I called at 4:30 to see if I could first, remember this is number one stop for locals and tourist and BEST BUGER YOU WILL EVER HAVE!!
  4. If traveling around Scotland for a week or backpacking for a month like me you should join The historic Scotland trust or the British one where you get discounts and free entries to places part of the National Trust like, abbeys, castles, towers and gardens etc..

Now in Jedbugh you will find three significant places to visit and only one of them costs £6:
First, Jedbugh has Mary Queen of Scots house, where she visited and stayed when she was sick. Go see a lock of her hair! £1 audio guide not needed because there are many info boards to read. 

Next, Jedbugh Abbey with free audio guide which you defiantly should use. £6 or free if you are part of the National Trust. The architecture, the magnificent structure, a view from a second story of the Abby ruins and the pace and tranquility of the garden/cloister. Perfection. 

.

Lastly, the Jedbugh Castle and Jail. While the original Castle was burnt down, it later became a jail. Just have to walk up a hill from the Mainstreet which is behind the Abbey. The jail, I found to be super creepy, defiantly ghosts there.

Now, back to hiking, there are a range of trails and if you buy the £2 booklet, it is worth it if you are staying for one day or more. Trail one includes the above places but trail two gives you a bit of a country side trail for a good two hours and a magnificent view over the town.

My little adventure on my day in Jedbugh included all the places above and the first half of trail two. Why only the first half? Well as I was beginning to walk up a roach as part of the second half of the trail, I realised I had lost my scarf. So, I went back to get it… Past the cows and some sheep, a bit of wind at the highest point of the trail then as I am almost at the beginning of the trail, I trip over a fallen branch and grazed by Jean covered leg! Of course I get injured… I can only imagine the graze if I hadn’t been wearing hiking boots and jeans. Found my scarf team meters later at the VERY BEGINNING of the trail. By this time it was 4pm, I was injured and limping, so I walked back into town for an ice pack at the chemist. Then the best BUGER I’ve ever had at The Beltars Bar. 


Next stop is Edinburgh for the fringe festival and luckily cheap last minute accommodation…. Quality to be assessed in next blog maybe… What should I write about next?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

P.S. The Belters Bar

Leave a Reply

