Do I have to hate valentines day just because I am single?

I know so many people who are overly dramatic about valentines day because they are single and go on and on and on about how much they hate it, when in reality they are just lonely. It is the drama they create that annoys me to no end. I truly believe in living my life to its fullest potential which means experiencing the moments of life as they come and not the outcome. Happiness is in those small moments and are not always a constant part of life. I apply that same rule to love. I will say ‘I love you’ to random people who do nice things, I love some people for the moments of joy they bring into my life but I do not want love to be the ‘be all to end all‘, it is not going to be the centre of my  life… Making myself happy is, my dreams, my career, my family. I choose to love those small things in people and I could never just settle because it should be part of my life.

People think a soul mate is a perfect fit for their every day and that is what everybody wants. I get that. It is like security, but is it worth suffering a mediocre life chained to routine? What I believe, is in a true soul mate who is like a mirror. A person who enhances who you are and brings you to your own attention. A person to show you that you are alive, who tears down your walls and smacks you awake to become aware of yourself. I would want a sense of comfort and security but not to feel trapped… placed in a box or category of what someone wants of me or thinks I should be.

Now for the fun stuff…..

Single pringles don’t be hating on valentines day, so here is something to make you feel better…. or at least laugh. But, if you need ideas for valentines day presents, I would look to the following video.

 https://youtu.be/pdpWj3mTQRg

I am defiantly more of a Galentine day fan than a chocolate vacation, because… well… lactose intolerance.

My Top 10 Celebrity couples

  1. Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds
  2. Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel
  3. Sam McTrusy + me
  4. Ryan Gosling + me
  5. Shemar Moore + me
  6. Mathew Gray + me
  7. Sam Heughan + me
  8. Adam Levine + me
  9. Oscar Isaac + me
  10. Henry Cavill + me

Songs for valentines:

  1. Thinking out loud by Ed Sheeran
  2. I’m in trouble by Griffin Peterson
  3. All of me by John Legend
  4. Parachute by Cheryl
  5. Starving by Hailee Steinfeld

Songs for singles on valentines:

  1. Single ladies by Beyonce (of course)
  2. No good for you by Megan Trainor
  3. Mr C by Nina Nesbitt
  4. Same old love by Selena Gomez
  5. Habits by Tove Lo

p.s I feel like I picked up most of my second paragraph from somewhere but I am not sure where, but it has stayed with me for the longest time.

Leave a Reply

